Skip to main content

REVIEW: Act Of Denial - 'Negative' (Album)


International melodic death metal group Act Of Denial was founded by lead guitarist and songwriter Voi Cox (Koziak, Victim) and guitarist Luger (Koziak, Benighted-Cro) in early 2020 to create early melodic death metal like they grew up with. They enlisted the help of some of their idols and those they admire to bring their vision to life. They are joined by Björn Strid (Soilwork), bassist Steve Di Giorgio (Death, Testament), drummer Kerim “Krimh” Lechner (Septicflesh) and keyboardist John Lönnmyr (The Night Flight Orchestra). As if the project line-up wasn’t hefty enough, some of the tracks also feature special guests.

The opener ‘Puzzle Heart’ gets things off to a rapid and sizzling start that immediately hooks you in. Björn Strid’s diverse and signature tones work wonderfully, which is no surprise given his work with Soilwork. The song delivers the perfect blend of melody and aggression to take you on an exhilarating ride and sets the scene for the rest of the album.

The striking ‘Controlled’ kicks off with melodic hooks and riffs, which are present throughout and features a standout guitar solo from DEATH’s Bobby Koelble, adding some extra clout to the track.

Offering a change in pace, ‘In The Depths Of Destruction’ opens with a stripped back calm guitar intro and a generally slower pace, but it still hits hard with its highly melodic sounds and keeps things exciting with its tempo changes. The title track ‘Negative’ gets back to higher speeds and is a crushing melo death number representing the album’s sound. The memorable and fiery ‘Slave’ features another guest appearance from ex-Soilwork guitarist Pete Wichers delivering a slick solo and is a standout track with strong key/synth sounds from John Lönnmyr, which are highly effective.

One of the heaviest tracks, ‘Your Dark Desires,’ thumps hard and to top it all off, it features an insane and powerful guitar solo from virtuoso Ron Thal Bumblefoot (Guns N Roses, Son of Apollo), which you would expect. The final song, the resonant ‘Clutching At Rays Of The Light’, is extremely catchy and features some of Bjorn’s most varied and best vocals. A robust way to close the album.

All six members unite together to produce tight and high calibre melodic death metal. It is the perfect balance of heavy and melodic, with each member and guest musician bringing their passion, energy and talent to the table throughout all ten tracks. The songwriting and craftmanship are brilliant, making this a striking debut, and it will be exciting to see what lies ahead for Act Of Denial.

Check out our interview with Voi to find out all about Act Of Denial:

'Negative' is released on 13th August, out on Crusader Records.


Popular posts from this blog


  New All-Stars melodic death metal band/project ACT OF DENIAL was formed in 2020 and composed of lead guitarist and songwriter Voi Cox (Koziak, Victim), guitarist and lyricist Luger (Benighted, Koziak), vocalist Bjorn Speed Strid (Soilwork), bassist Steve Di Giorgio (Death, Testament), drummer Krimh (Septicflesh) and keyboardist John Lönnmyr (The Night Flight Orchestra). Voi and Luger told us: “This is now just a continuation of what we have been doing all our lives and only now in our 'older age' we have done something serious. Of course when it comes to music, at least for us, we wanted to record an album with some of the best musicians in metal music and the ones that we listened to when we were kids. We are not saying that this is something special what we are doing, but this means a lot to us and basically we are doing this for ourselves and our closest friends first but also for all the metal fans around the world who we hope are going to like our new music. Anybody can


  Sunflower Dead, the infectious active rock band from Long Beach, CA, has released its new song “The Underneath” today. The song is the first single from the band’s upcoming fourth album March Of The Leper, due out early 2022. The visualizer video for the song can be seen below: Apple Music Link: March Of The Leper is available for pre-order starting today and is available in 7 packages at this location: Pre-order 1. Signed CD 2. Signed Vinyl 3. Signed Limited Edition Cassette 4. Signed CD/T-Shirt Bundle 5. Signed Vinyl/T-shirt Bundle 6. Signed Cassette/T-Shirt Bundle 7. Everything Bundle Sunflower Dead is comprised of Michael Del Pizzo (Vocals, Accordion, Piano),and Jaboo (Guitar). August/September Tour Dates: 8/13 Salt Lake City, UT - The Royal * 8/14 CO Springs, CO - Sunshine Studios* 8/15 Denver, CO - Herman’s Hideaway * 8/17 St. Joseph, MO - Cafe Acoustic * 8/19 Indianapolis, IN - Hi-Fi + 8/20 Battle Creek, MI

The Dead Daisies Unleash New Single 'My Fate'

  The Dead Daisies have released a new single 'My Fate' ahead of their  upcoming Like No Other World Tour. The crowds lapped up this darker and more mysterious track during the warm-up shows in the US last month so what better choice for the new single. ‘My Fate’ is available now on your favourite digital platforms below so stream away and turn it up loud. You can also check out the My Fate (Trailer) video below: For more on The Dead Daisies: