Skip to main content

British metallers Ambrius release 'The Unavoidable Path' video ahead of their debut EP


Ambrius is most likely a new heavy metal band you've yet to discover, but that is set to change. Featuring former members of metal acts Oakhaart and Tempestora, this Gloucester metallic group has spent time honing lessons learnt and applied a pure bloodied combination of art and craft to produce one of the best emerging metal debut EPs heard in recent times.

The debut EP 'Effigies of Time' sees Ambrius romping out the gates with their own unique take on heavy metal which paints huge dark orchestral and symphonic sonics that are complimented with technical heavy metal acrobatics. Crucially, at the beating heart of this forthcoming release is the importance of songwriting, melody and a flaming hot side dish of diversity. Shiers explains, "Metal is and probably always will be the main source of music I listen to, however, I’ve always loved and appreciated many genres of other music, including classical bodies of work. Like Metal, classical music has such a dark but beautiful element to it that really resonates with me, and this really inspired me to get more into musical theory and orchestral music to write the scores for Ambrius' debut EP."

A cathartic time capsule, 'Effigies of Time' lyrically resonates with modern day society and current events. Prophetic in places, reflective in others. The lyrics serve as a sharp reminder that the world we live in shifts at a rapid pace and what we thought we once knew now requires careful thought and action if we are to survive and thrive. Featuring six tracks influenced on the different strains, pressures and injustice in the world and a much needed time for change, this new EP is a heavy metal haven that cares and challenges the listener to face difficult truths affecting Planet Earth right now.

"Ultimately, our debut EP dares to dream of a perfect world, one that embraces ‘imperfections’ instead of shunning and outcasting them", says Shiers.

From invasions, war, the horrors of prejudice, hatred, & racism, butterfly effects and beyond, Ambrius discusses a broad spectrum of important subject matters throughout the new EPs journey, some of it their own experience and observations on current events. However, one cornerstone cements this release: Stamp out prejudice, hatred and intolerance everywhere. (credit: The Sophie Lancaster Foundation).

Change is here, it's inevitable, and Ambrius are set to lead the charge in the metal underground’s future.

‘Effigies Of Time’ was produced by Sam Shiers/Ambrius and is released 15th July 2022.

EP Tracklist:

1) Effigies Of Time

2) Self Reflection

3) Breathe

4) The Unavoidable Path

5) Red

6) The Pulse And Purpose

Check out the video for 'The Unavoidable Path' below:


Ambrius is:

Sam Shiers - Vocals

Jason Deakins - Guitars

Michael Perks - Bass

Alex Hawes - Drums

Connect with Ambrius:





Photo credit: ArcH-Photography


Popular posts from this blog


  New All-Stars melodic death metal band/project ACT OF DENIAL was formed in 2020 and composed of lead guitarist and songwriter Voi Cox (Koziak, Victim), guitarist and lyricist Luger (Benighted, Koziak), vocalist Bjorn Speed Strid (Soilwork), bassist Steve Di Giorgio (Death, Testament), drummer Krimh (Septicflesh) and keyboardist John Lönnmyr (The Night Flight Orchestra). Voi and Luger told us: “This is now just a continuation of what we have been doing all our lives and only now in our 'older age' we have done something serious. Of course when it comes to music, at least for us, we wanted to record an album with some of the best musicians in metal music and the ones that we listened to when we were kids. We are not saying that this is something special what we are doing, but this means a lot to us and basically we are doing this for ourselves and our closest friends first but also for all the metal fans around the world who we hope are going to like our new music. Anybody can


  Sunflower Dead, the infectious active rock band from Long Beach, CA, has released its new song “The Underneath” today. The song is the first single from the band’s upcoming fourth album March Of The Leper, due out early 2022. The visualizer video for the song can be seen below: Apple Music Link: March Of The Leper is available for pre-order starting today and is available in 7 packages at this location: Pre-order 1. Signed CD 2. Signed Vinyl 3. Signed Limited Edition Cassette 4. Signed CD/T-Shirt Bundle 5. Signed Vinyl/T-shirt Bundle 6. Signed Cassette/T-Shirt Bundle 7. Everything Bundle Sunflower Dead is comprised of Michael Del Pizzo (Vocals, Accordion, Piano),and Jaboo (Guitar). August/September Tour Dates: 8/13 Salt Lake City, UT - The Royal * 8/14 CO Springs, CO - Sunshine Studios* 8/15 Denver, CO - Herman’s Hideaway * 8/17 St. Joseph, MO - Cafe Acoustic * 8/19 Indianapolis, IN - Hi-Fi + 8/20 Battle Creek, MI

The Dead Daisies Unleash New Single 'My Fate'

  The Dead Daisies have released a new single 'My Fate' ahead of their  upcoming Like No Other World Tour. The crowds lapped up this darker and more mysterious track during the warm-up shows in the US last month so what better choice for the new single. ‘My Fate’ is available now on your favourite digital platforms below so stream away and turn it up loud. You can also check out the My Fate (Trailer) video below: For more on The Dead Daisies: